Loving Tokyo (27 Feb – 4 Mar 2020)

It was supposed to be my first ever overseas marathon, and I’m very grateful to be able to ballot successfully for a slot. However, sometimes things happen and throw you a spanner in your works. Nevertheless, this is still one really awesome trip which I will remember for years to come.

As usual, my good friends Long and Liang met me for kopi supper before my trip and Liang kindly drove me to the airport as well. This was my 2nd consecutive solo trip after India in Jan 2020. However, the difference was that this time round, there was no feeling of apprehension or anxiety.

I checked in at the airport. The feeling was also different for another reason. I had met Meitie 2 days earlier and she had made up her mind abt us. I had thought I would be able to send her a postcard now.. but.. it just was not possible. And nothing was possible now. In a way, I guessed the trip came in timely for me to take a break and get away from it all in a foreign land. I knew there would be no farewell or safe trip message from her, and it brought my mood down a lot.

Day 1 (27 Feb 2020)
The skies were a beautiful hue of blue as the sun broke through in the morning.

IMG_9340

I picked up my luggage and proceeded to collect my Suica Card and Tokyo Skyliner Express ticket at the airport, which I had prebooked from Klook. I took the Skyliner to Ueno, and transferred train on the Yamanote line to Osaki station. I like the peaceful surroundings that greeted me 🙂

Went to an ex-colleague’s office to find him to take the key to his apartment to stay for a night. However, somehow, my phone data signal was lost and I couldn’t reach him. I called him but he did not respond. It was very cold as the wind was blowing and I was wearing only a pair of berms. That was a bad mistake haha. My sis told me that Lawsons had nice chicken cutlet, so I went to the nearby store to get away from the cold and got myself a cup of latte and chicken cutlet. I finally managed to reach my friend after over an hour. Phew!

His accommodation was… very homely, to put it in a nice way.

IMG_9363

Messy seems an understatement. LOL

IMG_9367

Enjoying my latte and chicken cutlet before venturing into the cold again

After I had warmed up enough and put down my luggage, I ventured out again. I would meet him for dinner after his work. Meantime, I would explore around the area.

I took train to Ebisu, and then walked to Afuri for lunch, for their famed Yuzu ramen. I thought it was ok, though I would still prefer a pork broth type. But being in a foreign land, it’s always nice to try new things.

IMG_9383

At Afuri

Next, I ventured to the National Art Centre. Wanted to go to find some souvenirs and postcards, and the only thing on my mind was what I should get for Meitie. Yup, I knew it’s sort of over… but I can’t help myself.

IMG_9400

National Art Centre

After that, I walked again through Aoyama and towards Omotesando Station direction. I went past a Yoku Moku shop at Aoyama and thought of her again. She likes the Yoku Moku cigar biscuits. Though I’m far away, she’s just on my thoughts everytime and everywhere.

Reaching Omotesando, I actually went into the station to take shelter from the cold. It was brrrrrrrring… cold! I was still with my berms haha. I then divert towards Shibuya. Made a point to return to the Aoyama Farmers’ Market as it was only open on weekends. Bought some mochi from a streetside stall to bring back and try.

IMG_9407

Streetside stall selling all type of mochi

I went to Shibuya to tour around for a short while as I needed to go back Osaki and meet my ex-colleague for dinner. So, I would be back at Shibuya again!

We walked back to Shinagawa Station nearby and settled down for some super (really super) spicy ramen. After that, we went to Uniqlo inside Shinagawa Station to get myself a pair of heat-tech tights for the cold. I got myself a pair of track pants as well, at another Uniqlo shop. Now, I’m all ready to brave the cold!

Day 2 (28 Feb 2020)
I took the train in the morning to Harajuku Station. My first stop for the day was the Meiji Jingu Shrine. I was lucky enough to witness a traditional wedding being held at the shrine. This was  the 2nd wedding I witnessed on my 2nd trip to Japan, the first being at Kyoto last year.

IMG_9464

Entrance to Meiji Jingu Shrine

IMG_9477

Barrels of Sake

IMG_9488

Where wishes are made

IMG_9496

A traditional wedding in progress

I decided to draw a lot here. One is supposed to draw lots from a metal cylindrical container by shaking it gently till a lot is drawn from a tiny hole in the cylinder, and then the number of the lot refers to the lot you had drawn. Based on the number, you would have to take the slip of paper bearing that number and read it. I got it wrong and went to take my favourite number directly haha. The reading on the lot wasn’t direct, but I thought it sounded peaceful and soothing enough.

I next went to the South Pond within the compound, and actually sat there for over half an hour, basking in the warmth of the sun in the cold morning. Felt at peace with myself.

IMG_9520

At the South Pond

It was with much reluctance that I finally left the place, as there’s only so much time I have on hand here. If I could come here with her, I will just want to sit with her here, holding her hands and just enjoy the peaceful scenery in comfortable silence together.

There’s a souvenir shop here and I managed to find a nice postcard which I would write to her, but which of course, I could never mail it out.

I then went to the famed Harajuku area, known for its cosplay teens. However, today was a weekday, so there wouldn’t really be any people walking around in cosplay attires. I got myself an icecream though from one of the many shops selling icecream crepes there.

There were quite a lot of interesting shops there, if you had the time to walk around.

IMG_9571

Main street in Harajuku

I haven’t yet had my lunch, and so decided to walk further down to the famous and recommended Tonkatsu Maisen. It turned out to be really expensive and good! Haha.

After that, I walked around the area and found a really beautiful souvenir (which I didn’t buy) at Flying Tiger Copenhagen.

IMG_9597

Beautiful

I then went to Kiddy Land, to find souvenirs for my nieces, and of course, for her. She likes Hello Kitty and I hoped I could find some nice stuff for her. I bought some Sumiko Gurashi for my nieces, and a shy Neko (also a Sumiko Gurashi) for her. Saw a giraffe there which she likes, but, I didn’t dare to buy it cos I was afraid it would be too much for her.

It was rather late already and I had to rush back to my friend’s apartment cause he was taking tonight’s flight back to Singapore. We had a quick dinner in his apartment before bidding each other farewell.

IMG_9636

So soon to say goodbye to him

I dragged my luggage and took the train to Shinjuku-Nishiguchi Station. There, I checked into my accommodation for the next few days. It was located slightly away from the main area, but it was quiet and peaceful.

As always, wanting to make time count, I decided to venture out to the main area in Shinjuku, even though it was already 10pm. The whole area was still surprisingly very lively even at this late hour.

IMG_9661

Famed red light district in Shinjuku

Day 3 (29 Feb 2020)
Today is a special day. The leap year. And I thought of her again. How I wish I could spend this special day with her..

Finally today, I did not need to do a lot of walking. Signed up for a Klook tour today, with another friend who also signed up for the Tokyo Marathon. We met and took the tour bus. We went to Grindpa Park, where we were so fortunate to be able to see Mt. Fuji in the distance. It was so beautiful 🙂

DTGH1033

Beautiful Mt. Fuji in the background

IMG_6401

With my friend

IMG_9715

Some sledding fun at Grindpa Park

JMQX8811

NVHP3807

Saving Earth is our Mission

After this, we went to Owakudani, a volcanic valley at Mt. Hakone. We tried the famous kuro-tamago black hard-boiled eggs. I was kinda disappointed though. It tasted normal haha. Probably overhyped.

IMG_6471

The famous hard-boiled egg

IMG_6442

Enjoying ice-cream in the freezing cold temperate

IMG_9776

Kuro-tamago Hello Kitty – Thought of her again

We got nice chocolate ice-cream and attempted to finish it in the cold. It was nice when your ice-cream don’t really melt on you haha.

When I saw the Kuro-tamago Hello Kitty in the souvenir shop, I just knew I had to get it for her. I still remembered the first time when we met, I got her a MacDonald’s Hello Kitty container as a belated birthday present for her. These are like bitter-sweet memories..

Next, we took the Hakone Ropeway from Owakudani to Togendai, before boarding a pirate ship. I was feeling rather down at this point. Had msg her but got a negative response from her. But had to keep my smile on.

IMG_6459

Taking the pirate ship

Our final stop for the day was Gotemba Premium Outlets.

IMG_9840

At Gotemba Premium Outlets

It was a 2 hour bus ride back to Shinjuku. We were quite hungry at this point. My friend recommended this ramen place and so we went there for our late dinner.

The food was quite nice. Finally, with our tummies satisfied, we walked around the main area in Shinjuku to do some shopping. We finally split up after that and I went to walk a while more before going back to my apartment to rest for the day.

Day 4 (1 Mar 2020)
Today was supposed to be our Tokyo Marathon race day. However, due to the COVID-19, only elite athletes would take part this year. My friend, Zhixian and I all went to catch the start of the race at different areas in Shinjuku.

IMG_9933

Getting ready for the start of the Tokyo Marathon

When the race flagged off and I saw the athletes running past, an emotional feeling overwhelmed me. It was like inspiring. I am not an elite athlete, but I knew the efforts and pain put in to prepare and run a race.

My friend and I decided to also catch the race at the finish line. We didn’t manage to meet up as a lot of the areas were sealed off. So we watched at separate locations near the finish line. Seeing the athlete reaching the final 1km and being cheered on by so many, is a wonderful spectacle to behold. I wish I would receive some cheers too when I run next year haha.

IYOC7305

VIKE3982

Home Run

After this, I went to walk around the Marunouchi area, the main commercial district in central Tokyo. I went to Tokyu Hands, Muji and Ginza Loft, to try and find some stationery. Meitie once said she loved the notes I write. Why am I trying to hold on to something that is no more… Who can really know the affairs of the heart?

I next went to the Ghibli Clock to catch the show. It was interesting, though a bit out of the way.

IMG_0040

Ghibli Clock

After the show, I finally get to go to the Aoyama Market. Bought myself some mandarin oranges, pastries and a cup of latte.

I proceeded on down the main street and finally had a good look at the famed Shibuya Crossing. Decided to have an early dinner at Ichiran ramen.

IMG_0078

Shibuya

After dinner, I actually went back to the Ghibli Clock to watch the night show. I think I’m crazy haha.

IMG_0093

Ghibli Clock at night

After the performance, I took the train to Harajuku to try and see if I could catch any cosplay action there. But of course it was already late. The shops had mostly closed. And then my friend messaged me to say he was at the top of Shibuya Crossing and I told him to wait for me as I walked from Harajuku to Shibuya. Joined him at the top of Magnet building to catch the Shibuya crossing from above.

IMG_0143

Famed Shibuya Crossing at night

I had done a lot of walking today, and I was so tired. We decided to call it a night after this and took train back to our respective stations. I settled down at a Mac nearby for one more supper, to rest my aching feet. These few days, I had clocked so much kilometers it is amazing haha.

IMG_0150

A happy meal to end the day

Meitie messaged me today. Just happy to chat with her.

Day 5 (2 Mar 2020)
Time passes very fast and it was already my 5th day in Tokyo.

I walked in the rain to the Post Office to send the postcards. Only 1 card I couldn’t send, and I would pass to her in person when I meet her. It was drizzling. The mood was a bit gloomy. I couldn’t find the sports jacket which my jiefu asked me to find, though I had went to many sports shops over the past few days. A bit disappointed. But, I managed to buy some Tokyo Marathon and Tokyo Olympics t-shirts.

I took train over to Ueno station, to go Ueno Park. There, it started raining heavily. I waited a while, but decided to just walk in the rain.

I saw early blossoms of cherry blossoms 🙂 It was beautiful in the bleak coldness.

IMG_0194

Early cherry blossoms

And then I reached the restaurant I wanted to try for their lunch kaiseki – Inshotei. I stepped in and dried myself. Finally out of the rain for a while. The setting is very warm and welcoming, esp with the rain pouring outside.

IMG_0206

Kaiseki lunch at Inshotei

Meitie messaged me and I chatted with her for a while. Brightened my mood in the gloomy day, even if it is just a while. If only she knew how much I miss her.

After lunch, the rain finally lightened to a drizzle. I saw more cherry blossoms 🙂

I then took the train over to Tokyo Skytree station. Due to the Covid 19 situation, most attractions are closed, including the Tokyo Skytree and Tokyo National Museum. Thus, I could only watch from afar. The mist added a surreal feel to it.

IMG_0273

Tokyo Skytree shrouded in mist

My most important stop for the whole trip is at Asakusa, the Sensoji Temple. I wanted to get some charms for family, close friends, and her. I feel better if I get her a charm to protect her. I hope it would keep her safe from all harm.

It was already 5pm when I reached the main stretch of Nakamise shopping stretch. I realized that the shops for the charms had closed. The main hall for worshipping had closed too. I was late.

IMG_0280

Entry to Sensoji Temple

IMG_0296

IMG_0307

Making a prayer

I took a lot here. Felt upset when I saw the lot, and tied the slip of paper on the grounds. Is it meant to be the way it is?

IMG_0320

Sensoji Temple at night

I knew I had to come back tomorrow morning after I checked out. It would be a busy day.

I left the temple grounds and wanting to try the tempura in this area, I stepped into a shop and ordered one.

IMG_0335

Tempura and Udon

After that, I took train to Nishishinjuku to meet my friend for… yes, another dinner haha. He recommended a shop selling okonomiyaki. We queued up for quite a while in the cold. Yes, it was that popular.

IMG_0362

Awesome okonomiyaki

It was our last night in Tokyo, so we decided to walk around somemore before going back to our respective accommodation. By the time we were done and parted ways, my left heel was feeling quite painful from the days of intense walking. I had never felt pain there before.. Sigh.

Day 6 (3 Mar 2020)
Early morning, I went to Uniqlo, took me about 20-30min to walk there, esp with the pain in my left heel. The shop was… closed and only opened at 11am for today! So it’s a wasted trip.

Went back to my apartment and checked out. Then I took the train to Ueno station and deposited my luggage there.

IMG_0402

Goodbye Shinjuku

Next I went to Asakusa station. I drew another lot at the temple, before going up to make a wish outside the main hall. I know it’s difficult.. but I want to believe that miracles do happen.

I finally managed to buy the charms for family and closed friends, and also one for her.

I grabbed one more snack near the temple grounds before finally departing for the airport. The trip seems to come to an end so fast.

At the airport, I went to the DFS to buy all the snacks to bring back home, including the Yoku Moku that she likes.

This time, for the first time ever, I actually grabbed my first ever alcoholic beverage on a flight haha.

IMG_0525

Upon reaching back Singapore at past midnight, I went for my favourite tea and also mee rebus. I missed the time in Tokyo. I hoped for, but didn’t receive any welcome message from her. I know it’s difficult.

Till 2020, when I see you again Tokyo. Till then, hope everyone stays safe in this difficult times.

Leave a comment